

To support and represent trustees in advancing public libraries

BCLTA 2022 Annual General Meeting

October 25, 2022 Via Zoom

The October 25, 2022 BCLTA AGM welcomed special guests Hon. Nathan Cullen, Minister of Municipal Affairs; David Stevenson CEO, Moose Hide Campaign; and Ry Moran, Canada's inaugural Associate University Librarian for Reconciliation at the University of Victoria and founding director of the National Institute for Truth and Reconciliation. Recording available on Youtube through the BCLTA website.

Meeting Minutes Approved May 29, 2023

1.0 Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 7:17PM by M. Gagel, President, BCLTA.

2.0 Announcement of Quorum

The AGM Credentials Committee reported that the AGM had quorum.

3.0 Approval of the Agenda

Moved by, J. Chuback (Trustee, Whistler Public Library) that the agenda be approved. Seconded by D. Clark (Trustee, Cranbrook Public Library). *Carried*. 4.0 Approval of the Minutes of the October 26, 2021 AGM

Moved by L. Hearty (Trustee, Surrey Libraries) to approve the October 26, 2021 AGM minutes.

Seconded by D. Hofman (Trustee, Tumbler Ridge Public Library). *Carried.*

5.0 President's Report

M. Gagel, President, BCLTA

Written report submitted as the 2021/22 Annual Report.

5.1 Partners' Update

Presented by R. Hadziev, the Executive Director of the BC Library Association, on behalf of the BC Public Library Partners (Partners).

- Overview of the work of the Partners in 2022 that included advocacy to the provincial government for provincial funding for public libraries; presenting to the Select Standing Committee on Finance and Government Services; and presenting at the UBCM Convention,
- 5.2 M. Gagel, President, BCLTA recognized outgoing board members:
 - Rhonda Sherwood, Trustee, Vancouver Public Library
 - Harlan Pruden, Trustee, Vancouver Public Library
 - Elysia Glover, Trustee, Greater Victoria Public Library
 - Louise Hearty, Trustee, Surrey Libraries

6.0 Report on Financials

Presentation of fiscal year ending January 31, 2022. Presented as information by D, Clark, Treasurer, BCLTA.

Moved by L. Vilness (Trustee, Pender Island Public Library). Seconded D Hofman (Trustee, Tumbler Ridge Public Library). *Carried*. 7.0 Report of the Nominations Committee

J. Chuback (Trustee, Whistler Public Library) reported on behalf of the Nomination Committee.

Nominees for five (5) open positions of Director are:

- Jennifer Amell, Trustee, Prince George Public Library
- Darra Hofman, Trustee, Tumbler Ridge Public Library
- Darius Maze, Trustee, Surrey Public Library
- Michelle Sylvest, Trustee, Nelson Public Library
- 8.0 Call for nominations from the floor for directors.

M. Gagel, President, BCLTA, called for nominations from the floor for the office of Director (3x).

There were no nominations from the floor.

9.0 Elections

The following candidates were acclaimed:

- Jennifer Amell, Trustee, Prince George Public Library (2-year term, 2022-2024)
- Darra Hofman, Trustee, Tumbler Ridge Public Library (2-year term, 2022-2024)
- Darius Maze, Trustee, Surrey Public Library (2-year term, 2022-2024)
- Michelle Sylvest, Trustee, Nelson Public Library (2-year term, 2022-2024)
- 10.0 Resolutions

10.1 BCLTA Board Resolution to Have Nominations from the Floor Removed at BCLTA AGMs

Moved by M. Gagel (Trustee, Prince George Public Library)

Seconded by J. Chuback (Trustee, Whistler Public Library *Carried.*

10.2 Resolution from the Prince George Public Library Board: "Prince George Library Board urges the BC Library Trustees Association to work with the BC Public Library Partners to engage with the Public Library Branch, Ministry of Municipal Affairs to eliminate the systemic barrier that prevents Indigenous people living outside of municipal boundaries from serving on a municipal public library board." <u>Full Resolution from the</u> <u>Prince George Public Library Board</u>

Moved by M. Gagel (Trustee, Prince George Public Library). Seconded by S. Bolton (Trustee, North Vancouver City Library). *Carried.*

11.0 BCLTA Awards

M. Gagel, BCLTA President presented Wally Bergen, a long-time serving member and past chair of the Smithers Public Library Board, the BCLTA Trustee Excellence Award.

12.0 Other Business

None.

13.0 Next Meeting

To be determined by the BCLTA Board of Directors.

14.0 Adjournment

Moved by D. Clark (Trustee, Cranbrook Public Library) to adjourn.

Time of adjournment not recorded.